Settling in…

I recently moved out of St Catherine’s college, which was my home for four years. I had a beautiful flat, furnished right up to the scented tissue paper in my wonderful bathroom. My 2nd floor perch had 1 bedroom, a living room, a kitchenette, a bathroom and a huge balcony. I got food covered, they cleaned once a week, internet included, Cable TV and of course, wonderful company. Being an RA I got to live for next to nothing! You people know me and my awoof tendencies now. Until one fine day, I decided to call it quits. It was part of the “self liberation program” that my parents have encouraged me to start (that’s a story for another day).

Anyways, since I moved to this new Aje kpako lifestyle I have added some new words to my vocabulary. Most of them were a rude awakening.

Rent ~ contrary to what Nollywood has taught me, Caretaker no dey come remind you to pay rent o! Thank God for automatic Bpay transfers.

Cooking ~ because Mummy is 8 time zones away.

Groceries ~ No, the fridge does not automatically stock itself. Shocking.

Furniture ~ apparently they don’t always come with the place neither do they germinate out of the wooden floors.

Ikea ~ The answer to all of life’s problems. Why make war when you can make a bookshelf?

Neighbours ~ Not the TV show, annoying ones that smoke on their balconies so it blows in and pollutes your beautiful air.

I have been trying my best to settle in but a few weeks ago, SOMEONE stole my mop! Yes my fancy schmancy mop! Granted I bought it from Crazy Clark’s for next to nothing, but it was still MY MOP! 😦 I put it outside to dry under the sun and I came home and it was gone! This is too reminiscent of boarding school! Friday nights, the nights before inspection everyone’s mop and scrubbing brush and buckets get stolen… Gosh I HATED inspection… I hated boarding school life… I loved the people though….

*sigh* but at least I’m surviving! My Dad told me I won’t last 1 month out of St Cats. It’s been 6 months. I should’ve bet him! Hehe. Oh well.

Life on my own is quite adventurous really. It’s taking me a while to adjust but I’m getting there. One step at a time…

Lot’sa homy love

Fatima “Bree Van De Kamp” Bukar

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Settling in…

  1. Afoma says:

    \’… SOMEONE stole my mop! Yes my fancy schmancy mop! Granted I bought it from Crazy Clark\’s for next to nothing, but it was still MY MOP! 😦 I put it outside to dry under the sun and I came home and it was gone! This is too reminiscent of boarding school! Friday nights, the nights before inspection everyone\’s mop and scrubbing brush and buckets get stolen… Gosh I HATED inspection… I hated boarding school life… I loved the people though….\’-Tell me about it, good times…

  2. Jessica says:

    "Why make war when you can make a bookshelf?"I think you\’re onto something there! Love it.

Leave a Reply

