Celebrity Spotting?

It has only been one week since Uni resumed from the winter break and yours truly has already had her fair share of embarrassing moments. These days, it seems I’m actually becoming immune to being embarrassed (Hope I don’t jinx myself).

So I was walking around the UWA campus when I spotted an interesting person.

Oh my goodness! It’s Agyness Deyn

Or someone that looks and dresses exactly like Agyness Deyn!!!

It wasn’t my direction, but I followed the person who seemed to be going towards the Arts building here at UWA.

Checkered fedora – ✔
Red and white horizontal striped scarf – ✔
Platinum blond Louise Brooks Haircut – ✔
Ultra skinny jeans – ✔
Black Leather biker jacket – ✔
Leather cross body sling bag – ✔

And like Tim Gunn will say, she was making it work!

I had no idea why I was following her. I knew it wasn’t the real Agyness Deyn but that didn’t stop me. I felt she ought to know that she has a wonderful sense of style. (People like hearing that right?) People love being complemented, especially for something as personal as style. I was going to suggest she sends her style to Pelican, the UWA student magazine because Lord knows that magazine needs help – esp in the fashion department. I’m not saying it’s a crap publication, It’s actually pretty good. But the articles are more like long winded essays with vocabulary that’d make even Wole Soyinka scratch his head. Pelican needs to be more fun-focused…*sigh*

Anyways, I increased my pace. I even had a floor plan worked out in my head.

I had reached and intercepted her and…


Oh, Snap!
.
..

….
…..
……
…….
……..
…….
……
…..
….

..
.


It’s not a girl.


.
..

….
…..
……
…….
……..
…….
……
…..
….

..
.

Another quick anatomical scan – Yup, definitely not a girl. In fact, not only was this a boy/man, he also seemed a little emo.

Think, Fatima, Think!

What do I do?

  1. Say the truth – “I think you dress like a very stylish girl.” Hmmm, he may not take it well.
  2. Turn around and run! Run like Bolt, dammit!
  3. “Oops, didn’t mean to bump into you. My leg accidentally twisted and I ended up on your path” end it with a nervous giggle.
  4. "Wow, you have impeccable eye-lining skills" Which he did! His eyes were so perfectly lined I won’t mind asking him to teach me how. Esp if I use traditional Kohl, it would look wonderful!

Didn’t know when my mouth opened and I said:

“Excuse me Do you know the way to Kim Beazley’s office?” (Kim Beazley = former Australian Prime Minister Candidate that now works at the Arts &  Humanities Faculty in UWA)

Lame, Lame, Lame!!! But hey, at least it’s a question, better than lying right?

At least I got an “um, no?” answer from him, so maybe I came off as genuinely lost. *sigh* I’m sure he things I’m very strange, but then again, who doesn’t? 🙂 Oh well, I’d probably never bump into him again so it’s all good.

But seriously though, What do you think about men in skinny jeans?

The other day I was at The City and I saw a black guy in skinny jeans I don’t know why but something did not feel right. Would it have been more acceptable if he didn’t wear a leather jacket? Did his desert scarf also add to it?

Maybe it’s because of my brothers. They used to wear the baggiest pants my Mum used to threaten to light a fire to the part that drags on the ground.

Maybe the media projects images that makes us want to classify people into categories. Why is it that when people see dreadlocks, we automatically think –> Hippie! When we see a White guy in Urban wear like Vokal or AKDMKS, we think Wigga! ISn’t that like passing judgment before we even get to know the people?

For instance, Agyness Deyn look alike might not even be emo! Maybe he just likes to dress in skinny jeans and wear eye-liner. Too bad if that makes him look like Agyness Deyn. But if he’s happy, then I’m happy that he’s happy! Good on ya bruv!

I shd end here, I have started rambling.

PS- Just realised I  overused the word "Maybe" in this post. Maybe I just love it 🙂

Lot’s of Definite love with no Maybes

Fatima Bukar 🙂

Post Comments– Click Here

This entry was posted in What the..?. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Celebrity Spotting?

  1. Abdulkadir says:

    Nice blog input, very lovely……longest time….

  2. Krystal wei says:

    same thing happened 2 me before,i thought i bump into some sort of celebrity in my school, but i was so afraid to follow her cuz i was busy at that time…i reli like ur story,and i can tell u reli r a funny person. 🙂

  3. Lauren says:

    hahaha! trust u 2 be stalking ppl :P…. at least Kim Beazley was at the uni.. for a minute then i thought u were asking about him cause it was the first name that popped in ur head! what on earth is he doing at the uni now???

Leave a Reply

