Was it my fault?

 

I’m going through a very awkward phase with one of my closest friends and our friendship is on a very rocky path. For some reason, two people that used to see at least 6 times a week and call no less than 3 times a day have changed to two people who act awkwardly polite around each other and have only SMSed once in three weeks. Now we didn’t fight, no, I usually make up with a person I fight with within a few hours. We had a disagreement and things just got awkward. I have long been hoping this patch will pass and we’ll go back to being the best buds that everyone knows we are.

 

 

So you can imagine my joy on Wednesday when on my way to the bus stop, my phone rang and it was her. It was about time we got this mess sorted out!

 

"Hey woman! Why are you walking so fast? Turn around," she said.

 

"Where are you?" I laughed. I was walking on a footpath and there was almost no one walking in front of me or behind me.  

 

"I’m in my car, walk back quickly…. Oh Sh*t!!!!!!!!!!!"

 

"What? Oh my God? What’s wrong?"

 

Turns out she was talking on the phone and driving at the same time. She kind of stopped on the curb to speak to me and she eventually kind of lost control and her car turned into an under croft parking lot. The car went over a road median and got scratched severely on the bottom.

 

By the time I got where she was she had successfully reversed and parked the car properly. However, the engine oil was leaking (I suck at automobile vocabulary!). It didn’t seem like a big deal to me (but then again, what do I know about cars?). She seemed (understandably) upset by this, although a few minutes after that it seemed she was upset at me for some reason.

 

 

Nevertheless, I apologised that this had happened and then proceeded to one of the most tense car rides ever as she dropped me off at the bus stop so I don’t miss my Route 102. People were waiting for me and I had to be somewhere important, that’s why I couldn’t stay to go with her to the mechanic and fix the car. She also told me it was no big deal and it was fixable so I didn’t have to fuss over it. The car was oky, no one was hurt, it was fixable so we both went about our day as we had planned before the mishap.

 

The question here is:

 

Was it my fault that this had happened?

 

Is she right to be angry at me for the whole accident happening?

 

Am I to be held responsible for any of this? Keeping in mind that it was her choice to talk on the phone while driving but at the same time, I would have hung up, told her to park so we could talk if i knew she was driving. But I did not know.

 

So what to do? I hate blame games. I take responsibility when I know I have done something wrong because let’s face it, nobody’s perfect. I just need to know if I should be halving the car repair bill or not.

 

Lot’s of annoyed but understanding love,

 

Fatima "Yes-I-still-catch-the-bus" Bukar 🙂

 

P.S. Handsfree is the way to go while driving!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Was it my fault?

  1. Sasha says:

    It\’s not your fault but it happened and she needs someone to blame and there you are!

  2. Abdulkadir says:

    It is an accident, shouldn\’t blame anyone for that, afterall is an unexpected happening. I think you should go to her and ignore any negetive thinking she might have against you….let her carry the burden….like the way you write lady…have a nice w/end.

  3. Zakiyya says:

    Hi Fatima :-)My guess is there is more to this than your friend is letting on. I mean if you fell out and you\’re not sure why, she\’s probably holding something back from you. Talk to her. That\’s always the best way in my opinion. Especially if she\’s a realy good friend. I always talk it out with my friends when things go pear-shaped. I don\’t mind apologizing to my closest friends even when I don\’t believe its my fault because I think some friendships are way too special to be lost on a silly disagreement. Talk it out! 🙂

  4. Aminu says:

    take the FAULT and u will win ur friend back

Leave a comment